Clutter Free: Quick and Easy Steps to Simplifying Your Space by Kathi Lipp and published by Harvest House Publishers (2015) is a book you can’t do without. Since I began reading the book a week ago, I have gotten rid of six bags of clutter and twenty extra dinner plates. I am experiencing a new sense of freedom because I don’t have to deal with so much extra stuff around my house. This book could change your life in an amazing way.

Kathi’s basic idea is that if you have so much extra stuff lying around, it will rob you of your peace and keep you from enjoying the things in your house you really appreciate. She gives three magic questions to help set the reader free from the pressure of having too much. They are: 1) Do I currently use it? 2) Do I really love it? and 3) Would I buy it again? If not, donating it, selling it or giving it away to someone would be helpful.

The book is full of many short, practical how-to suggestions for the clutter-minded individual. There is also a chapter about what to do if you live with someone who has a tendency to keep clutter. She brings up spiritual aspects of living clutter free. There are helpful Bible verses and reasons why people get themselves overwhelmed with clutter in the first place. There are also chapters about how to control your spending.

This book would be very good as a ministry tool. For the unsaved person who won’t read an outwardly spiritual book, this one has Bible verses and spiritual principles throughout. I have a coworker who wants to read it. It is very easy to read and doesn’t make you feel guilty, like other books on the subject.

Overall, I am so thankful I read this book. As Kathi says, it gives us quick and easy steps to simplifying our space. The reason most of us want to do that is to bring us less stress and more peace in our home environments. May this book bless you as it did me.

Patsy Ledbetter says she has many titles, but her favorite is being mom to her five children. Her two daughters, two sons and one son-in-law are her joy. A teacher with forty years experience Patsy has taught children of all ages and also special needs children and adults. She writes occasionally for a local newspaper and performs in church theater productions on a regular basis. Her husband is the church choir and orchestra director. They have been married for 32 years. She says, “It is my desire to bring honor and glory to my Lord Jesus in every area where He has allowed me to minister.”

 

