I like magazines. Short, informative articles, inspiring stories and lots of pictures are definitely welcomed in my busy life. I think kids like magazines too. So I was intrigued when Jessica Lippe, the senior editor of Girlz 4 Christ, emailed me about her magazine. A couple of us took a look and we liked what we saw.

Girlz 4 Christ is an online magazine for teen girls. It comes out quarterly and is delivered free to the teen’s email box. (The teen must be 13 or older to sign up without a parent’s permission.) If you go to their website, http://www.girlz4christmagazine.org/ , you can view their Winter 2015/2016 issue. (I had to scroll to find the “Read this issue” button.)

I thought the range of articles in the magazine was impressive: from fashion tips, to spiritual insights, to practical helps for Christian living, to interviews with inspiring women. The editorial staff seems to know their audience. The pieces are written with a teen girl’s interests in mind. Yet the articles also mentor teens, providing them with the insights and wisdom of more mature, but still young Christian women.

Nancy Ellen Hird

Nancy Ellen Hird is a mom, a writer and a credentialed teacher. (She taught seventh grade and preschool.) Two of her published works for children are Marty’s Monster and Jessica Jacobs Did What?  Her latest work is I Get a Clue, a mystery novel for girls 10-13. For several years she was a freelance reviewer of children’s and teen’s literature for the Focus on the Family website.

