Many parents are concerned today that when their kids leave home they will lose touch with their faith. It is not an unwarranted concern. Recent statistics on twenty-somethings and thirty-somethings who were churched as children and yet are no longer part of a church body are disturbing.

I began to panic when my oldest child entered the junior year of high school. Had I given all the advice and spiritual direction needed to keep that soul on course?  How can a parent predict what a child will face in the big wide world? I couldn’t. But God can. So, it was time to take the final steps in preparing my offspring to detach from me and walk alone—with the Spirit of God as her guide.

The best way I could think of to do this was to ask my kids what kinds of world religions they met up with or were curious about. Then I researched each, and compared their beliefs to standard Christian teachings, naming similarities and differences. I put these in columns across a sheet of paper. (It’s easy to set up a chart like this on a computer.)  Then I gave each child a copy. We sat down, read through one column each night, and then had a question and answer period to clarify or add to any important details for them to know.

Apologetics was the other item I thought essential. Simply put, apologetics is understanding one’s faith clearly enough to explain it to others and defend it if necessary. I’ve bought a lot of books over the years by various authors for different learning levels, and also sampled audiovisual choices. My oldest child found one author intriguing, so we bought an entire set of his books. Reading them, my young adult wove the author’s arguments into existing knowledge and afterwards had a deeper understanding of faith–a sense of confident ownership.

For the second child, the approach will be different, but whatever approach fits, I will pursue. This task isn’t too big for an average parent. And God isn’t so weak that sincere questioning will topple Him. We must equip our children with the answers they seek.

Building the bedrock of their souls will make them able to withstand the storms to come.

A Brief Bibliography:

Evidence That Demands a Verdict by Josh McDowell

A Ready Defense by Josh Mc Dowell

The Problem of Pain by C. S. Lewis

Mere Christianity by C. S. Lewis

Know What You Believe by Paul Little

So What’s the Difference? by Fritz Ridenour

The Case for a Creator by Lee Strobel

The Case for Christ by Lee Strobel

books by Ravi Zacharias

These books, written for adults, are among my favorites, but there are many more.

Josh Mc Dowell and Lee Strobel have additional books written specifically for children.

These are readily available online and in stores.

Donna Fujimoto is a graduate of Alliance Theological Seminary. She has published both devotionals for adults and short stories for teens. Her children love to read.

