Hi, Book Lovers,

I love a good story. When I was a kid, I used to get in trouble for keeping the light on way into the night so that I could read just one more page, one more chapter. One of the best parts about summer was the books that I had time to read.

My mother would look at me reading, my legs dangling over the arm of her best chair, and say, “Go outside. Do something. Don’t just sit there.”

So I would close my book, go outside, stretch out underneath a shady tree and read.

I loved the people I met in books. I loved going along on their adventures, laughing with them at their mishaps, and crying when their lives turned sad. (Sometimes I got mad when things turned sad. I was beside myself when Anne of Green Gables’ Matthew died and it took me a long time to understand why Jo couldn’t marry Laurie.) I also loved the way the words sounded together. A well put together sentence delighted me–still does.

Do you love a good story? What about your kids? Do they get wrapped up in a good book?

